Health & Wellness Love & Life Spirit & Deeper Still

The Chakra Series: Heart Chakra

Do you have trouble making human connections? If you feel isolated and have a fear of intimacy, it may be because your heart chakra is blocked.

By: Stephanie Sandoval

Last time, we learned about the solar plexus chakra, the third chakra associated with self-confidence and assertiveness.


Photo Source:

The heart chakra is the fourth chakra. It is located in the center of the chest, between the breasts. It is represented by the color green. However, an active fourth chakra has a pink auric color. This may be why love is widely associated with a pink heart.

If your heart chakra is open, you’ll be compassionate, forgiving, and loving toward yourself and others.

The Sanskrit name for the heart chakra, Anahata, means unstruck, unhurt, and unbeaten. You are open to others because you believe in the kindness and compassion of their hearts.

But if your heart chakra is blocked, you may have health problems, which include respiratory and heart-related issues.  

You might be defensive, jealous of others, and closed off from the world. In general, you feel lack a desire to make friends and deep connections.


However, there are numerous ways of opening your heart chakra. You can practice love and gratitude and start doing yoga.

Opening your heart chakra will make you feel unconditional love for all and help you appreciate the beauty of life. The recommended yoga poses to attain this expands the chest cavity and releases back tension.

Here are three yoga poses to help open your heart chakra:
  1. Camel Pose (Ustrasana)

Camel pose broadens your chest and increases the capacity of your lungs creating an open environment for positive energy. It opens up your hips and strengthens your back, thighs, and legs. It even helps your digestion!

  1. Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

Once again, open your heart and chest to the heavens! Fish pose stretches the front of your body, such as the intercostals (the muscles between your ribs), abdomen, hip flexors, chest, and throat.

  1. Cat Pose (Marjaryasana)

Cat pose is said to calm the mind and reduce the stress in your life. It stretches the back and spine helping your posture and alleviating any tension stored in this area. If you want to take your body and mind a step further, you can pair it with the Cow pose!


Have you practiced any exercises to open up your heart chakra? Share with us in the comments.

Alchemy 27 Ad


Photo Sources: WeHeartIt

Feature Photo Source:

You Might Also Like...

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: