Health & Wellness Love & Life Spirit & Deeper Still

The Chakra Series: Root Chakra

Our bodies, along with everything else in the universe, are made up of energy. Energy runs through seven major points in our bodies. These areas are called chakras and each is specific to a different energy.

By: Dina Sabatelli

While the concept of the chakras originated in India sometime around 500-1500 B.C., it is still widely believed and followed today. According to ancient texts, there are many chakras located within the body. However, each person experiences the seven main chakras. In order to live a vibrant, healthy life both physically and mentally, all seven chakras must be open.

If your chakras are open, positive energy is more easily able to flow through your body.

Because our energies are constantly in motion, it is important to be aware of blockages that can affect our mind, body, and soul.

There are a variety of culprits that can lead to a blocked chakra, such as feelings of worry, physical pain, fatigue, or insecurity in relationships. So knowledge of each chakra is essential for healing the body from the inside out.

Does your relationship need some healing? Check out these 5 Tips for a Positive, Healthy Love Relationship.

The first chakra is the root chakra, or Muladhara in Sanskrit. It is located at the base of the spine in the tailbone area and acts as your body’s foundation.

The root chakra is connected to feelings of being strong and grounded and is symbolized by the color red.

If you have an imbalanced root chakra, you may experience physical problems, especially with the bladder, colon, and lower back. You may even have anxiety or nightmares.

However, a strong root chakra is the foundation of your energy and is essential to allowing all the other chakras to be opened.

So when the root chakra is in balance, you feel secure, grounded, and at peace.

Yoga poses are a great way to restore balance of the chakras. Different poses correspond to different chakras and help release energy blockages. Here are 3 poses to help support your root chakra.

Warrior Pose. Photo Source: yoganonymous.com

Warrior Pose

Warrior Pose gives a feeling of stability and strength and helps bring a sensation of being grounded. Even the name, warrior, helps achieve a powerful feeling.

Yoga is more than just exercise. Find out why here.


Bridge Pose. Photo Source: MindBodyGreen

Bridge Pose

While your feet are still grounded, raising your hips allows energy built up tension in the area of the root chakra to be released. When you allow negative energy to flow out of the pelvis, you assist in regaining balance within the root chakra.


Photo Source: Yoganonymous.com

Sun Salutations

Sun salutations are a collection of gentle poses centered around stretching the spine up toward the sun.
Doing sun salutations creates a feeling of being centered and connected with the earth.

Want to start a yoga practice? Begin with these 6 steps.

Stay tuned as we explore the seven chakras. Next: Your Sacral Chakra, just in time for Valentines’ Day.


Want more articles connecting your mind, body, and spirit? Join our mailing list!

Featured image source: alicearnould.com

You Might Also Like...


  • Reply
    How Positive Expectations Can Help You Get What You Want NOW – stephsand14
    September 1, 2017 at 7:55 am

    […] probably feel joy and excitement. You may feel light and a sense of freedom. On the other hand, if anxiety sets in over this upcoming event, then you may want to continue […]

  • Reply
    February 7, 2017 at 6:02 pm

    I need help my life is out of blance

    • Reply
      Elizabeth Toy
      February 10, 2017 at 8:22 am

      Thanks for reaching out, Joyce.
      We hope our ongoing Chakra Series will help bring you some guidance.
      Have a lovely weekend and take care of yourself first!

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: